Build a Template Room

How to create your template room and what is new

Updated this week

Template room overview

When you have created your Deal Room template room you will enter edit mode. If you're used to our Contract Room template, you'll immediately recognize that the Deal Room template layout is different.

The room content is structured by two levels; pages, that are used to group content on a top level, and sections that are used to group content on a page

Both pages and sections are summarized in a Table of contents in the left bar, which is used as a navigation menu to browse the content of the room.

The room template can be seen as the framework of a sales process, where the pages act as the various stages in that process. We, therefore, recommend starting building your template by adding all the pages you need in the template and then continuing to add their respective content as sections.

In this guide, we will go over how you can navigate your template room and build your template step by step.


Building your template

When you have created your first template room you will have a blank page and section to start with.

There are two options you have:

Add elements within your current sections

Add a new section

A new section is automatically added to the current page, and will show up in the table of contents - but you will need to name the new section yourself. You can easily drag and drop sections between pages in the Table of contents.

Once a new section has been added it will be also added as a new section under the page in the menu to the left:

Each page is further divided into sections. Sections are the different topics you want to present.

For example, you could create a section for “About Us”, “Products”, or “Contact”.


What you can add to your template room

Here you can add Content resources from your library.

Adds a text editor element to your section. Read more about it here

Use this element to add images to your room. You can choose one from the image library, upload a picture from your computer, or by using an image URL.

Upload a video from your computer, record it, or add a link to a video.

Adds a pricing table section to your content. Read more about it here.

Use this element to add tables to your section. Add or remove columns and also add borders and background to your table. Read more about it here.

Use this element to separate different parts of your section, such as the Overview from the Pricing sections. Read more about it here.

Here you can add text and images in the view of columns. Read more about it here.

Use this element to add an image and text in the same row of your section. You can choose one from the image library, upload a picture from your computer, or by using an image URL. Read more about it here.

Add a URL to create a link element.

This element allows either recipients or senders to type text into the field. Read more about it here.

This field allows the sender to add a dropdown list, with choices for the recipient to choose from. Read more about it here.

This field allows the recipients or senders to click and check a box on a certain selection. It can be checked by default by the sender before delivering to customers.

Read more about it here.

Upload a file presented as a slideshow to your content. Allowing you to switch easily between pages instead of having to scroll.

Connects an active contract to your room, read more about it here.

When adding content to your sections you'll use our various editor elements. To learn more about the Editor, click here. We have a new element in the Deal Room, the Slideshow element, that lets you upload content in a slideshow mode. More about it is below.

You can also add resources, and content from your library. Read more about it here.

There is also a new option to link a contract to sign to your room, read more about that here.


Upload a PDF, PowerPoint, or Keynote file as a Slideshow to your template room

When you upload a file the view will be a little different, allowing you to switch easily between pages. This is instead of having several pages after one another, which you need to scroll through

To upload a file, simply add an element within a section or add a new section.

Scroll down in the list to find Slideshow.

You are simply adding it as a Slideshow!


Pages Overview

You now have an index to your left, this is your template's menu.

Here you can create new pages and view what content you have in your room.

This makes for easy navigation to each page.

Create page

Creates a whole new page. When you add new sections within a page they will be shown as sections under the page, which can be viewed to the left.

The sections that are shown under the current page you are on represent each section you have on your current page.

If you, for example, have a lot of sections added to one page you can simply click on each to the left, instead of having to scroll down the page.

Rename a page or a section

  1. By clicking on the three dots next to the section you want to rename

  2. You can also rename the page by double-clicking on the current name

Hide pages and sections

As mentioned before, the Deal Room template is commonly used to create all the default content of a specific process, and the template should hold all content from start to finish of that process.

That doesn't mean that all your content needs to be visible to your room participants all the time. You can choose to hide pages and sections that are intended to be presented later in the process, and your users can choose to present them when they reach that specific state.

Hiding a page will automatically hide all sections on that page, and a page will always be visible if there is at least one section that is shown.

  1. Click on the three dots next to the page

  2. Select Hide page

Delete a section or a Page

Deletes a whole page or a section within a page

  1. Click on the three dots next to the page you want to delete

  2. Select Delete page

  3. Done!

Please keep in mind that once a page is deleted it cannot be undone


Template room Settings

To set and access your Template room settings simply click on Settings at the top.

Here you have three different types of settings you can make and below we will go over them in a bit more detail.

General settings

Availability settings

Functionally settings

General settings

The general settings let you adjust various aspects of your room, these are:

Reminders

You can set a reminder to be sent out to a participant who has already received an invitation but has not yet visited the room. You can also decide if you want the reminder to be repeated after a specified number of days.

Value (only for internal use)

Setting the value of the room will be helpful when you want to link the room to a specific contract later in the process.

Please note that the value will not be visible to the participants and is for internal use only.

Availability

The availability settings let you specify in which mode the room should be available to participants.

Restrict room access

  • When you toggle ON Restrict room access only invited participants can enter the room.

  • When a Room is set as public, anyone who has the universal link can enter the room. Best used when the link is to be shared among your participants and their stakeholders.

  • When a participant has been given the universal link, they will be asked for their email and then added to the room as a participant.

Delete

If you would like to fully delete a Template, please note that once a Template is deleted it cannot be retrieved again.

Did this answer your question?