You can change the document owner before sending a document. By changing the owner the notifications and statistics will transfer to them.
You can't change owner on a sent document that yet hasn't been signed. You can only change it in draft or after it has been signed.
How to change document owner in draft
Click on the draft action menu (the three dots up to the right when in draft mode)
Choose who should be the new owner